Welcome from the Chair

Welcome from the Chair of Governors

Hello and welcome to the governors pages for the South Hams Federation.  My name is Jane Greaves and I am the current Chair of Governors, I have been a governor for 16 years and Chair for 6.  If you need to get in touch with either myself or the Clerk we can be contacted as follows: Mrs Jane Greaves & Mrs Zoe Hayhurst: c/o Stokenham Area Primary School, Stokenham, TQ7 2SJ.

The Board of Governors of the South Hams Federation represents the four schools within the Federation (Malborough with South Huish, Loddiswell, Modbury and Stokenham Primary Schools).

Instrument of Government

The Board of Governors of the South Hams Federation comprises:

  • One Executive Headteacher
  • Two Parent Governors
  • One Staff Governor
  • One Local Authority Governor
  • Five Co-Opted Governors
  • Two Foundation Governors, one of which is Ex-Officio (The Foundation Governors are appointed by Exeter Diocesan Board of Education)Total number of governors: 12


  • The Board of Governors meets six times a year.
  • The two Standards Committees meet as required.
  • The Ethos Committee meets once a term.
  • The Executive Committee (comprising Chair, Executive Headteacher and Business Manager) meets once a month.
  • The meetings are held in school time, allowing Governors the opportunity to meet the children and staff, undertake Learning Walks and see all four schools operating on a day- to-day basis.

Jane Greaves
South Hams Federation